The Simpsons Movie Review

I could’ve written a whole another blog entry just on the journey to get this movie in the first place. First it was, go to DeKalb, to the Carmike to find out its sold out. M theatre let me down man! Go back to Rochelle and find things to do, hung out with Rhema, played a little b-ball, then went up to Showplace in rockford finally in the hopes of seeing there. We get there and the place looks packed, I’m thinking “shit, not again.” Well we get in there and to my suprise the theatre had plenty of seating left, PHEW! Now onto the review haha.

Voices of – Dan Casteleneda, Julie Kavner, Hank Azaria, Yeardley Smith
Ahh yes the classic yellow figures that have made us laugh for the last 18 to 20 years are now in their own feature length film. All voices onboard, the movie starts out like the tv show does, with the simpsons intro, which I’m glad they stuck with. I would’ve been highly disappointed if they would’ve done otherwise. A cameo appearance by Green Day was even made as they sung the simpsons intro (after the actual intro don’t worry for you non-green day fans) and when they went to make a global statement their set was destroyed and they sank into the water (i found it funny even though I was a green day fan). The whole premise of the movie is that Springfields lake is heavily polluted, and they finally take steps to clean it up, and who of course but Homer Simpson screws it up by dumping a silo full of pig droppings into the water. That creates a gigantic stir as the EPA arrives and put what looks like a giant contact lense over the city, virtually sealing everyone and everything in the dome. I think one of the funniest things was in the movie when after a half hour (the normal set of a simpsons episode) they put “to be continued” and I literally heard half the audience go “HELL NO”, they were quickly silenced afterwards when the word “immediately” came up on the screen, i tried to keep from laughing my ass off. This movie, was everything I wanted it to be, I know for a lot of the Simpsons fans out there, the last couple of seasons have sort have been fillers, not real good, this more than makes up for that, like big time. There’s a lot of slapstick, there’s a lot of WTF???? This movie was so genuinely funny, I left this movie saying I have to buy this when it comes out on DVD. I think all Simpsons fans should see this movie, this is what the series needed, and I’m glad Matt Groening decided to do this.

Coleman

P.S. Techno Film’s MySpace, add them if you like.

Leave a Reply

